2.33 Art Direction/Design

Rachel Fung
2 min readMay 3, 2021

--

Now that the video edit is done, I will need to settle on my overall art direction for the project. It can’t look like “end of world” anymore. I wish to go for a more vibrant look.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/bc/f7/3a/bcf73a89b3714ffd518c9a97229c08fb.png

Visually from the image above, the orange colour brings warmth to the cold and dull grey blue. The colours also gives enough ‘room’ for the artworks to shine on their own. I wanted to edit my images of commuters in trains in black and white to show the idea of trains being a place of nothingness/non-place. In this way, the visuals are the ones that bring colours and life into the commuters’ journey.

The initial art direction was black and white text but with the addition of orange I have a third colour to use in my design that can be used to ‘highlight’ important elements.

For the typeface, originally I used Brandon Grotesque as I was using WIX and that was one of the better looking typeface available which matches the tone of my project. I decided to go with the typeface Whyte designed by Dinamo.

The ink traps adds curvature to the stiff straight cuts

Of course, in the case of my project I am not using an ink trap typeface for the purpose of ink spreading but rather for its aesthetic and structure. The idea of how the ink traps add curves to areas of the type where it is usually straight, is similar to the idea of adding visuals to the boring and dull train windows in underground tunnels.

This image explains the idea behind ink traps

In the same way, the issue of the train travelling in tunnel and the window showing nothing but darkness was never an issue identified/brought up. Yet here I am, looking at things from a different perspective and wanting to bring to light to others about this and also bringing light into our dull trains.

I downloaded font stand to rent the typeface Whyte in light,regular and bold, as well as Whyte Ink trap in light italic and regular. My wallet is hurting…

--

--